Skip to content
31/07/2010 / John Hanna

Prayer Letters: August

August marks my birthday

August prayer letter:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28 ESV)

Come to me is an invitation to trust Jesus personally, not merely to believe historical facts about him. All who labor and are heavy laden refers in the immediate context to those oppressed by the burden of religious legalism imposed on people by the scribes and Pharisees. But the wider application is that Jesus provides “rest for your souls” (v. 29)—that is, eternal rest for all who seek forgiveness of their sins and freedom from the crushing legalistic burden and guilt of trying to earn salvation by good works.

Praise

  • Blog. Praise God for the views.
  • Dance Aerobics. Praise God for helping the organisers as they prepared for this DBC outreach.
  • New role. Praise God for my new role of part-time Pastoral Assistant at DBC.
  • Professional Placement. Praise God for helping me on my professional placement at DBC.

Ask

  • Blog. Ask God to use this blog for his glory and help me as I post.
  • Cover. Ask God to help me as I prepare for the 8 and 15 August at DBC.
  • DBC. Pray for the DBC leadership for next year.
  • Saintfield Baptist Church. Pray for the SBC leadership as I return in the incoming months that I might be able to glorify God there.
  • IBC. Ask God to help me to prepare for final year.
  • Fees. Ask God to continue to help me find and pay the fee shortfall.
  • Friend. Pray for my friend, that God will show them how great they are and how much they’ve achieved for him, without realising it.
  • Mum. Ask God to help my mum’s health.
  • Future. Ask God to continue to guide me.
  • Rest. Ask God to help me to rest and prepare for my new role.

Related Internet links

ESV Online

TKOW is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

Leave a Reply

