Skip to content
09/06/2010 / John Hanna

Cut

Cut

Sunday was the last day of my *professional placement at Dungannon Baptist Church.

My last [official] day coincided with the Young Peoples’ Service/Children’s Day. This years theme was Daniel and each class took part in various ways, from art to drama. After that I had the opportunity to talk about Daniel 1. At the end of the service I was given a complete set (OT and NT) of the Wiersbe Bible Commentaries as a thank you for my time with the church and my coffee-making skills!

I started my placement on 3 October and I’ve really enjoyed every minute of the challenges, as well as learning a lot from seeing a fully-functioning church in action, but I still can’t believe it’s been nine months! A previous ‘rough ride’ left me concerned about my future, however my placement helped me to review and develop my gifts with God in a local church. The way it should be.

You may wonder why I’ve entitled this post ‘Cut’, according to Wikipedia “in film and video editing, a cut is an abrupt, but usually trivial film transition from one sequence to another. It is synonymous with the term edit, though “edit” can imply any number of transitions or effects.” This is because I’m involved in several other programmes before I’m finished, from World Cup Outreach and Explorers’ Prize Giving, to another Explorers’ Refinery meet-up and a couple of sermons. So at this cut I want to thank God, Pastor Phil, all of the DBC family and IBC for my placement.

*According to IBC, a professional placement is “an assistantship of about 7 months in a local church supervised by its pastor”.

Related Internet Links

Leave a Reply

